Healthy Comfort Food?!

Hi There!

How are you? I just finished a great workout on the spin bike (while watching Glee from 3 weeks ago) and am about to get back to work. First, I have to tell you about some great things I made today!

Lunch:

I bulked up the leftover butternut squash soup from last night by adding 1.5 chopped carrots.

I just sauteed them in the pot I was planning to use for the soup for a few minutes to soften them up. I added a tiny little bit of butter just for some flavor 🙂

Once they were slightly soft I added the soup, 2 T more milk, salt and lots of pepper.

It was so good! The carrots were still kind of crunchy so acted kind of like “healthy” croutons haha. It was warm, filling, and such a great lunch for a cold blustery day.

I made a salad to go with it but the soup was so filling, I couldn’t finish it all! What a shame!

Good thing my lunch warmed my soul because they woman working the bookstore in the Polsky building did not. I kindly told her I needed the 2010 Federal Rules of Civil Procedure book and could she please get it for me as the gate to the text books was closed. Personally, I do not think the judgment I received was warranted.

I mean, really. I find it hard to believe no one has ever bought a book 4 days before the final…

Whatever.

On to dinner. Keeping with the comfort food trend of the day, I made arborrio rice (rissotto rice) cooked with chicken broth and carrots and topped with roasted chickpeas.

I cooked the rice according to package directions-

1 cup rice + 1.5 cups broth, except I used an extra 1/4 cups of broth and added 2/3 cup of water throughout cooking. The rice was started to get dry while the carrots were still cooking.

I think arborrio rice was perfect since it turns out so creamy without any real work. Of course, real rissotto would have been even better but I wasted enough time already today. That will be saved for another day.

Anyway, I sliced 2 carrots and let them simmer away with the rice until the rice was tender and the carrots were mostly soft (I like a little crunch left, what can I say?)

In the meantime, I drained and rinsed a can of chickpeas, coated them in 1T olive oil & some salt and pepper and baked them at 375* for 23-25 minutes. I lost count.

Then, I served them on top of a nice bowl of rice and carrots. I also added a but of butter and a sprinkle of grated parmesan, for good measure.

This was such a great dish. The rice was super creamy and had great flavor from the chicken broth. The carrots and chickpeas were slightly crunchy, or course, and it was a great combo with the rice. I would definitely make this again.

Bonus, it only took like half an hour!

Now, I need to get down to business. I seriously do not even know who I am anymore. I have never ever been a late-night studier but for some reason I’ve been staying up late and doing work this week. It’s weird and I’m not sure I like it.

Maybe I’ll try to get to bed at a decent time tonight!

Have a great night & do your best to enjoy the blustery weather- I, for one, hope it’s here to stay. 60 degrees in November really freaks me out!

Abby

Leave a Reply

