It’s Cold Outside…

So warm up with a hot beverage!

I find few things to be more comforting than a big mug of hot chocolate on a cold winter night. It’s best to enjoy said mug with a blanket, a good book, and the couch when you can relax.

But, a close runner-up is a blanket, a Civ Pro outline, and the couch when you need to study.

Last night I whipped up a big mug of hot chocolate, topped it with marshmallow fluff, and went through torts flash cards.

Holla, Delta Zeta!

(and, why do I even have this mug?! I was in high school in the winter of 05… weird. hahah)

Two things about this:

1. Why do I have 2 vats of marshmallow fluff in my apartment? It’s clearly not health food.

Answer: Yes, it is. It only has 8grams of sugar per serving. Therefore- health food. And, my mom likes to buy me things in bulk. I think she thought I would make fudge with it, which is completely reasonable. Except Schock wouldn’t eat it and I would go home for Christmas looking like a tick. Anyway.

2. What did I use for the chocolate part of the hot chocolate? I used 2 packets of Diet Swiss Miss. Again, my mom gave it to me. I’m sure there is some healthy, natural way to make hot chocolate out there. Some day, I’ll find that. Until then I’ll enjoy my free stash of the mix stuff. Thanks, Mom ❤

So that was last night. What happened today?

Well, after decorating my tree (wait for tonight’s post!) and indulging in my daily couch nap, I woke up with an epiphany: homemade peppermint mocha.

Peppermint Mocha (1 DZ mug size serving)

1. Brew a large cup of strong coffee- I used 1/2decaf due to aforementioned couch nap

2. Once coffee is brewed, mix in 1 packet of diet hot chocolate mix (only 25cals, woot woot!)

3. Add skim milk until it starts to look creamy, more like hot chocolate and less like coffee

4. Add 1/4 t peppermint extract (again, thanks Mom)

5. Heat on stove (or in microwave if yours hasn’t been broken for 3+ months; don’t move to Highland Square Apartments) until warmed through

6. Top with marshmallows or marshmallow fluff if you also have vats of it lying around

7. Add hershey’s syrup if it isn’t quite chocolatey enough for you, either

8. Pour into a big mug & enjoy! You just saved $4, a ton of calories, and can now power through the evening of studying!

Now, in order to keep some reasonable proportion between studying & cooking, I must get to work.

Stay tuned for dinner/Christmas decorations!

Abby

Leave a Reply

