Meatless Monday Domination

Remember that time I decided to just “wing it” and make my own spaghetti sauce? Well, I do.

It was tonight. And it turned out perfectly. I made a wonderfully thick and hearty sauce that was the perfect accompaniment to whole wheat spaghetti.

To make this creation, you will need:

  • 1T minced garlic
  • 1 medium onion, finely diced
  • 3 carrots, peeled and diced
  • 1 green pepper, roughly chopped
  • 1 large can of tomato sauce
  • 1 regular sized can of diced tomatoes
  • 1/2t basil (dried)
  • 1t oregano (dried)
  • 1t parsley flakes (dried)

Start by sauteing the onions and garlic in a large non-stick pan coated in olive oil (I don’t know how much I used, just coat the bottom of the pan thoroughly). Once the onions become translucent, add in the carrots.

Give the carrots right around 3-4 minutes to soften a little and add the green pepper.

Let everything cook together for 5 minutes, then add the tomato sauce and diced tomatoes

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Let this simmer for at least an hour and a half. If you have two hours, use it. The longer it simmers the better it will be.

The end result is glorious. It’s so hearty, you don’t even miss the meat in the sauce. I really, really liked how it was so thick but if you wanted it a little thinner, just add more sauce and tweak the spices accordingly.

(Watch out for those splatters!)

Serve on the pasta of your choice and enjoy!

I will admit, I’m still pretty impressed with myself đŸ˜€

And now I’m off to do P90X with my dad. Yiiiikes!

Hope you all have a good night!

Abby

 

Leave a Reply

