Saturday!

Happy Saturday! πŸ˜€

I was up early this morning for an appointment. Sometimes it’s tough waking up early on the weekend but I think it’s definitely worth it- you get that much more time to enjoy your day!

My plan for the day is to: watch Food Network for hours, get some work done, Yoga-it, and and babysit my favorite girl πŸ˜€ And, maybe even hang out with friends before school starts Monday. Eeek!

Yesterday was a completely glorious day filled with a resume-reviewing meeting, fried rice making, and book reading. Lots and lots of book reading.

Like, I only left my couch from 1pm-12am to do yoga, go buy some snacks, and refill my water glass. If you haven’t read the book Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortenson and David Oliver Relin, you absolutely MUST. It is an incredible story of a mountaineer-turned-humanitarian who dedicates his life to building schools in rural, Himalayan Pakistan. Amazing.

Oh. I also made fried rice. Which was also amazing.

Fried Rice (serves 2)

1. Cook 2 cups of brown rice, according to package directions

2. While rice is cooking, slice 2 carrots and sautee in sesame oil for ~4 minutes. Add in 1/2 cup of snow peas

3. Crack 2 eggs into carrot/pea pan (wok) and scramble

4. Once egg is done, add in rice and top with soy sauce– I used alot of reduced sodium soy sauce. You should use as much as you want πŸ™‚

5. Once all the flavors are combined, serve. Top with store-bought sweet & sour sauce

Enjoy!

I chopped up a few leftover chicken fingers from the other night and added those in. It would have been a perfectly find meal without that addition though.

So good, and so healthy. I can’t wait to eat these leftovers for lunch!

Time to get back to Food Network ;-D

Enjoy your day!

Leave a Reply

