Traveling Oats

Good Morning everyone! How are you? πŸ™‚

I’m doing well- I got some extra sleep this morning because I accidentally slept through my alarm. Not to worry though, I’m going to boot camp at 3:15 then running a few miles after. This might be the new Wednesday ritual, if it works out, because I need to work on my strength!

I didn’t have the energy to make Banana Soft-Serve last night, but I’m hoping to do so tonight. You’ll love it- I promise.

I did, however, work on some great portable breakfast ideas.

One of my favorites is OOIAJ- or, Overnight Oats In A Jar. This is a delicious creation that you can only make when you have a nearly empty peanut or nut butter jar.

But, as this is pretty rare, I have an alternate solution. Overnight Oats In A Tupperware πŸ˜€

To Make:

  1. put 1/2 cup rolled oats in a small bowl
  2. add 1/2 cup milk & 1/2 cup yogurt- any kind would work but I think unflavored or vanilla is best- vanilla will add a nice, slightly sweet touch
  3. add flax meal or wheat germ as desired
  4. add a scoop of nut butter if desired (I need a little healthy fat in the morning or I’ll be dying of hunger an hour later)
  5. mix up and keep in the fridge overnight

When you wake up, add toppings and go. Toppings I like: banana, granola, chopped nuts, berries. The possibilities are endless.

This breakfast is great anytime but it’s especially delicious in the summer. It’s cold, creamy, and kind of doughy. I love it!

This was my breakfast. Oats, milk, vanilla yogurt. Topped with TJ’s cinnamon almonds (these are quickly becoming my favorite oatmeal topper, ever) and a lot of blackberries.

I packed it up and ate it right before Civ Pro, which worked wonderfully.

If you’re looking for a healthy breakfast on the go, give Over Night Oats a try. You won’t be disappointed! πŸ˜€

Have a great day!

Abby

Leave a Reply

