Snow Day #2

Ahhh… the beauty of 2 snow days in a row. This is what childhood dreams are made of! 😀

I remember sitting in front of the tv the evening of a snow day, praying as hard as I could that Tunkhannock Area School District would come up on the bottom of the screen. As soon as you saw that, you know you could stay up late- maybe go out sledding again in the dark, eat popcorn, watch extra tv. It was a beautiful thing, 2 snow days in a row. Something to look forward to during the long, Pennsylvania winter.

Unfortunately, I didn’t know school was canceled today until 4am. Then I woke up early anyway to pack Schock’s lunch. Because I’m a sweetheart like that- and he had approximately 15 minutes to get ready.

After he left, I promptly re-heated leftover pancakes, ate them, and fell asleep on the couch for 3 hours. I don’t know how these things happen. They just do. I need more sleep than the average bear person.

When I woke up, I did some light cleaning then made lunch. If I could be a stay-at-home mom and cook, clean, and raise children all day I would be the happiest person alive. I love it. Yes Dad, I did just type that. My, how I have changed.

Anyway- on to lunch. I made a big batch of quinoa and cooked about a cup each of broccoli and cauliflower in a Trader Joe’s Curry sauce I picked up

I’ve never had this stuff before but I really liked it. It packs a punch though- 100 calories per 1/4cup serving, so I had to be careful not to pour it on with reckless abandon.

I topped a nice big pile of quinoa with the vegetable and sauce mixture

Then, I feasted. I love eating vegetarian meals because you can eat so much food for not very many calories. Non-starchy vegetables like broccoli and cauliflower are practically freebies in my book, so I load them on.

They’re also filling- I only ate about 1/3 of this and saved the rest for lunch tomorrow. Oh, and I cooked extra quinoa for later too. Planning ahead makes life so much easier!

Speaking of life: I need to get mine in order. As in, I need to finish my resume and cover letter today so I can actually have a shot at getting a summer job. Time to get moving!

Have a great day 😀

Abby

P.S. Yesterday, while I was avoiding homework, I bought the domain name http://www.legal-eats.com. My little blog is growing up! So, add it to your favorites & stop by daily, why don’t ya! If you go to http://www.legaleats.wordpress.com it will still work, but it won’t be nearly as exciting!

Leave a Reply

