Still Missing

Hi Friends 😀

Sorry to leave to hanging for so many days, but the camera cord is still missing so I haven’t been able to share any photos! And really, what’s this blog without photos?

Just me rambling, of course 🙂

I’m going to order a new cord and hopefully use Schock’s camera in the meantime. Tonight though, I got creative and decided to use my cellphone camera to share my dinner

I made a vegetable soup-type one pot meal that ended up being delicious. Very comforting on yest another cold weekend!

Couscous Vegetable Soup/Stew

  • 2 carrots, peeled and sliced
  • 2 medium potatoes, diced
  • 1/2-3/4 cup frozen peas
  • 3/4 cup frozen green beans
  • 1 can corn
  • 1 box vegetable stock (usually comes in cans or little boxes- buy 1 of the boxed kind or 2 cans)
  • 1 cup dry whole wheat couscous- couscous is a little tiny pasta, common in Mediterranean cooking

Sautee the potatoes and carrots in 1 T butter in a dutch oven (or other large, heavy pan) until slightly soft. Add in box of stock. Bring to a boil, then add corn, peas, green beans, and couscous. Simmer for 10-15 minutes, until the couscous has absorbed most of the broth.

This turns out very thick. Thicker than a stew even. If you want it to be more like a soup, add less couscous or more stock. You choose how you want it. I wanted mine nice and hearty 🙂

Once everything is soft and the couscous is done, serve up in a big bowl and enjoy! Such a warm, healthy dinner.

I’ll also be eating this for probably the rest of the week. This could easily serve 3-4 as a main dish!

In other news: A few weeks ago, I signed up to run the Buffalo Half Marathon- my 3rd half. Schock is running the full marathon and I decided I just can’t sit back and let him have all the fun- I need to run something that day too.

Am I crazy? Yes. But, I did start my training today and 4 miles was way harder than I had hoped. I guess that’s why I have 3 months to get ready though, right!

Well, I need to get some homework done (rocking Saturday night, huh) so I’ll see you guys later. Have a great night everyone!

Abby

2 thoughts on “Still Missing

Leave a Reply

