Spring BBQ?

Hi Friends- hope you’re having a great Saturday! πŸ˜€

I got up early to do some more work on my brief, but ended up lounging around.

I watched half of Eat, Pray, Love last night before falling asleep embarrassingly early. I finished the rest this morning with a nice big cup of coffee πŸ™‚

The verdict? The book is way better than the movie. Isn’t that always the case though?! If you haven’t read Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert, I strongly recommend you do so. It’s a very lovely book.

In other (completely unrelated) news, I’m giving up burgers.

Sort of.

The other night we bought a pack of burgers at the grocery. I’m sure they were some sort of disgustingly raised cows and I felt guilty about even buying them. But, I was strangely craving a cheeseburger. I cooked them to oblivion to kill whatever super bacteria was growing in the cheap ground beef.

It did not taste good and I did not feel good after eating it. I didn’t feel guilty about the calories- I strongly believe in a good cheeseburger splurge once in awhile. I just felt gross, like I had done my body and the universe an injustice by literally “buying into” the circus of feedlot beef. I realize this may make me insane, but you probably knew that already.

Anyway, last night I made a black bean burger and I felt so much better about eating it. I wasn’t worried about super bacteria and I didn’t feel bad that a poor cow lived a miserable life dying for it, or that I supported Monsanto by buying it (even though I probably did, ugh).

So, I decided to stop eating beef burgers. From now on, it’s bean burgers & veggie burgers for this girl πŸ™‚

I mean, see how good this looks:

I made a simple salad of greens, carrots, hummus and balsamic and enjoyed my burger with that and some extra carrot sticks & hummus. A tasty meal I could feel good about eating. That’s really what it’s all about, right? πŸ™‚

And, it felt like I was having a little bit of a spring BBQ. Until I walked on the cold balcony with no shoes on to take a picture.

I think Spring BBQs will have to wait a few more weeks!

Our old roomate, Curtis, is coming to visit for the night and go to the Indians game tomorrow. I’m so excited.

I’m really, really, really trying to motivate myself to go for a run before he gets here, but it’s just so gloomy out 😦 We’ll see if I end up making it out there!

Have a great night everyone πŸ˜€

Abby

4 thoughts on “Spring BBQ?

    • That’s a great idea. I must make those immediately. I’m a little nervous about beets though, I’ve never worked with them before!

      P.S. Thanks for making me lust after Northstar while I’m stuck in dreary ‘ol Akron! 😦 haha

      • The recipe takes a lot of prep and is great for practicing knife work. I definitely recommend adding one or all of the following: chopped nuts, dates or raisons, and cumin (my secret ingredient for all burgers).

        Also, because it’s a little time consuming, but makes a lot of patties, freezing is a good option!

  1. I know exactly what you mean about feeling just plain gross/guilty after eating cheap ground beef. Black bean burgers are so delicious…I’m definitely going to try the above recipe too! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

