Tofu, Take Two

Happy Friday! Woohoo! 🙂

I am beyond excited for this weekend, even if it will only be spent outlining. I am tired of class!

I’m also excited to get in the kitchen this weekend and try some new things. I kicked off the weekend with the tofu recipe I promised

It turned out pretty well and I actually enjoyed eating this dish, instead of just choking down the tofu 😉

I pressed the tofu between two clean towels for almost an hour

My “tofu press” was two cast iron pans. It worked 🙂

After all the moisture was removed, I marinated the tofu in a little something I mixed up:

Orange Soy Marinade:

  • 3/8 cup Orange Juice (or 1/4 cup + 1/8 cup, if you are dumb, like me)
  • 1/4 cup low sodium soy sauce
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 teaspoons fresh ginger, minced
  • 1T sesame oil
  • 1T honey

Mix this all together and placed very thinly sliced tofu in it. Refrigerate at least 3 hours, overnight would be great.

Broil the tofu for about 7 minutes, flip and broil for another 7 minutes.

I made another batch of the marinade as a sauce and sauteed broccoli and carrots in it.

I topped a serving of brown rice with the broccoli and carrot mixture, and then added the tofu on top.

Finished with some extra soy sauce, this dish was as delicious as it was healthy! The flavor of the fresh ginger really shone through and make this incredibly light tasting 🙂

I definitely think you should try this tofu cooking method sometime soon. Or, if tofu creeps you out, make some chicken & try the marinade 🙂

Going in reverse order, I enjoyed a giant tuna sandwich for lunch today. Much to my tuna-hating-brother’s dismay, I love tuna salad sandwiches. I generally eat an entire can when I make it.

I combined dijon mustard, light mayo, and sweet pickles with a can of tuna. It was deeeeelicious! haha

This is a food blogger’s version of an “action shot”. Halfway through my tuna sandwich I realized I forgot to take a photo. Sorry! 🙂

And to finally round out all three meals, here is my breakfast:

Healthy fast food. It took less than 3 minutes to put this together and yet, by 6:30 am I already had 2 servings of fruit down. Perfect.

Nothing beats Cheerios with cold skim milk and fruit… except maybe Nutella 😉

And that, my friends, is what I ate today.

I really, really wanted to go to a fish fry tonight after reading my friend Andrew’s blog. Anyone enjoying the Lenten delicacy tonight? If so, I’m jealous!

Have a great Friday everyone- I’m off to clean the kitchen & watch a movie get some work done 🙂

Abby

2 thoughts on “Tofu, Take Two

Leave a Reply

