Strawberry Orange Salsa Saturday

Hi there! Hope Saturday has been treating you well πŸ˜€ A cloudy morning morphed into a beautiful, sunny evening here. Perfect spring weather if you ask me.

I spent the morning outlining & running some errands. Then, even though I got almost 10 hours of sleep, I took a nap. I swear I’m like a cat. I need an afternoon nap every day! It must be genetic, my dad also naps every afternoon πŸ™‚

My legs were still pretty sore from the 6miler on Thursday so I decided to take it easy and just walk today, pushing my long run back to tomorrow. I’ve been feeling very off lately. I think it’s probably stress, but I’ve just been feeling really weird- overly tired, cranky, distracted, and just plain blah.

It felt so very nice to just be out walking in the sunny, warmish weather. I did a lot of thinking and some plain ol decompressing. I felt better and more energized afterward. Maybe my body and mind areΒ  just desperate for spring and fresh air!

Anyway, when I got home I had one mission in mind: making dinner for my marathoner-in-training. Schock ran 16 miles today (whoa!) and he was starving. I made him a massive chicken and cheese quesadilla, using leftover chicken from the other day. He loved it and said I really need to master cooking things he likes, instead of feeding him things he hates πŸ˜‰

I also came up with a great way to use last night’s leftover tofu while I was walking:

Tofu Tacos with Strawberry Orange Salsa

For the tofu: I chopped up what I thought was a serving of the leftovers from last night, then I sauteed it in about 1/2 T of olive oil until it was nice and crispy. It looked so much like chicken- it would be so easy to trick someone πŸ˜‰

Note: If you don’t have leftover tofu, just press it until you remove all the moisture, slice it into 1/2 inch thick slices, broil it 7 minutes on each side, then dice it up. If you’re feeling dedicated, I’d sautee it for a few minutes after the broiling just to crisp it up.

For the salsa: I chopped up about 1/2 a cup of fresh strawberries and combined them with 1/4 cup of chopped, canned mandarin oranges (I had these in the cupboard, but I’m sure fresh would be great too). I added a drizzle of the juice from the can just to help make everything blend. Then I added about 1T of red onion, although you could add more or less depending on preference.

Mix this up a little beforehand so the flavors can come together and it can chill in the fridge πŸ™‚

Top two hot tortillas with tofu, salsa, and chopped lettuce. Enjoy!

This dinner was so good- I am a culinary master!! haha

I’m sure it would be just as good with chicken or even black beans. The only thing that could have made it better is if I had fresh cilantro for the salsa- as soon as my garden grows, we’ll test it! πŸ˜€

You seriously need to make this for dinner soon- so fast, so healthy, and so tasty. I promise πŸ™‚

Have a great night everyone- see you tomorrow after a 7 miler. Wish me luck!

Abby

Leave a Reply

