Homemade Potato Chips

Hi Friends- sorry for the lack of posting the past few days. I had my first final this morning so things have been pretty ridiculous.

I’m wondering how I spent the past few days, because I definitely don’t feel comfortable with how I did on my final. Ugh! Sometimes law school is the worst.

Two good things to come out of finals week(s) thus far: homemade potato chips & a salad challenge. Can you even hand the excitement?! πŸ™‚

Yesterday I spent $800 getting my car fixed and realizing I didn’t know anything about Tort law. The only solution: snack food. I needed potato chips in a bad way. Schock told me to go buy some, but I decided I could make them 1. healthier and 2. faster than going to the store.

The result? Crispy, salty, and the perfect study food without all the grease or chemicals.


To make these wonderful things, I simply washed and cut two small potatoes into super thin slices. I brushed a little olive oil on them and sprinkled on some chili powder & salt. I baked them at 375* for 18 minutes (or until they are starting to brown) on aluminum foil on a baking sheet (grease the foil). I peeled them off the baking sheet and devoured. So good! These definitely took care of my craving & didn’t make me feel guilty. Win, win πŸ™‚

The next development is a Salad Challenge

My goal is to try to eat one big salad every day for the rest of the spring/summer- so at least one meal/day will be a salad. I’m going to be super busy this summer (I already am) and I want to make sure I get my veggies in & keep the calories in check. Expect some interesting new combos & a dabbling in homemade dressing making πŸ™‚

Anyone else want in on the challenge?- I’m excited!

I had the same thing yesterday & today- a huge bed of romaine/spinach topped with carrots, tuna, and Italian dressing. A great, filling salad. I also had a few pita chips on top for some carbos πŸ™‚

Time for Michael Scott’s last episode on The Office. Ahhhh- so sad!!! 😦

Have a good night everyone, hopefully I’ll get a post in tomorrow…

Since I’ll be up so early to watch the Royal Wedding!!! Anyone else waking up at 4am? I am seriously SO excited for this πŸ˜€

4 thoughts on “Homemade Potato Chips

  1. I love the idea of pita chips on the salad! Def using that.

    This is a good salad I’ve made recently. It could be made under the broiler or on a grill pan if you don’t have a grill. Even if you don’t try the salmon part, the tomato vinegarette is tasty!

  2. Pingback: Taco Tuesday | Legal Eats

Leave a Reply

