Niagara Falls and Buffalo Marathon

SO, it’s been awhile! Sorry, friends. Things have been busy and I’ve been making the difficult choice of homework over blogging (trust me, I don’t like it any more than you do) 😉

Anyway, I have a whole trip to show you! The trip to Niagara Falls and Buffalo was great- we had alot of fun and the race was my best yet. Schock also rocked the marathon and finished with a time of 4:30. Pretty darn awesome, if you ask me! 🙂

I have mixed feelings about Niagara. The falls are absolutely beautiful and breathtaking, but the surrounding area is just too much. Tourist trap central, if you ask me. I’m sure that some people love it, and that’s great, but for me I like my natural wonders to be preserved a little more!

Here are some pictures of the falls and us in front of them 🙂

We went on the Maid of the Mist and the Journey Behind the Falls. Both were really, really neat even though we got a little wet. Definitely worth doing! Also, this was all on the Canadian side so I have no idea what the NY side is like

Northern Comfort- maple syrup. Hilarious

Now, for the marathon! I set out all of my stuff the night before and took a picture for you guys, since you might want to see what I wear 😉

I ate the PB sandwich and banana for breakfast (my usual long run breakfast) and I ended up eating the Gu and the Clif Shot and saved the energy chews for another time

A picture of us after the race. It ended up getting really hot during the race so as soon as I finished, I grabbed a water bottle and hustled to mile 25 to wait for Schock with it. His sister and I ran a little of mile 25 with him to help boost his spirits, but he definitely didn’t need it- he was doing a great job. I do think the water helped though! 🙂

Post race beer, naturally.

After we showered and such, we went to the Anchor Bar, the home of Buffalo wings. We ate an absurd amount of wings then basked in our accomplishment for the rest of the day while seeing other sites.

 

So many wings! They were definitely delicious though and totally worth the mega calorie splurge!

Overall, we had a great trip. The race was a blast and seeing Niagara Falls was really cool. Thanks for the great weekend, Schocks! 🙂

In other news: is tomorrow seriously Monday? Eek- I better get my homework done! 😦

But first, can you guess where this picture was taken?!


3 thoughts on “Niagara Falls and Buffalo Marathon

  1. Fun! A bunch of my friends ran the B-lo half last year (I did not join…still have yet to complete anything beyond a 5k). Regarding the area, if you haven’t heard the episode of This American Life about Niagara Falls, I highly recommend it…the NY side is nothing to see and actually downright depressing. Pretty sad. Glad you had a good race, Abby! 🙂

  2. At first glace, I thought you had a new hairstyle in you post race beer picture, but it was just a tree in the background.

  3. Pingback: Weeknight Mexican | Legal Eats

Leave a Reply

