World’s Best Dinner

Okay, so I made a really, really amazing dinner tonight.

Don’t worry, Andy still had Taco Tuesday (can’t mess with tradition, right?), but I had something far more creative.

Southwest Chickpeas and Sweet Corn

  • 1 can drained & rinsed chickpeas (garbanzo beans)
  • 2 ears sweet corn, with the kernels cut off (could use ~1cup frozen or canned corn if you must haha)
  • 1/2 pack taco seasoning
  • ~1 cup sugar snap peas
  • 1/2 cup halved cherry tomatoes
  • handful chopped fresh cilantro
  • toppings: shredded cheese and hot salsa

This meal could not be simpler or more fantastic.

Simply heat 1/2T olive oil in a pan. Then, add chickpeas and sprinkle on taco seasoning. Allow the beans to cook for just a few minutes to crisp a little, then add corn & sugar snap peas. My peas were fresh from my garden and oh so good!

Let this mixture cook for about 4-5 minutes. You want to heat it through but still keep the corn & peas crunchy. At this point, you may need to add a tablespoon or two of water if things are looking dry/the taco mix is clumping.

Finally, add the tomatoes and cilantro and turn off the heat. Top with cheese and salsa, if desired.

I served myself a heaping portion of this mixture plain, but I’m sure it would be great over rice. You could also add any vegetables you had on hand- I’m sure zuchini or summer squash would make fabulous additions.

I’m not even being dramatic- this is by far one of the best meals I have made in a long time. The flavors came together wonderfully and the crunchy corn with the soft chickpeas created a great texture. You should definitely make this meal soon. (Bonus: it is really cheap- corn on the cob is basically free during the summer and a can of beans is only $1)

(Please pardon the salsa splatters, I was trying to get every last drop out of the jar!)

A great dinner after a long day and a tough workout. Now, if only I was as good at doing laundry as I am at making dinner… šŸ˜‰

One thought on “World’s Best Dinner

  1. Pingback: Three B’s | Legal Eats

Leave a Reply

