Six Mile Saturday

Hello Friends šŸ™‚ Hope you had a great Saturday!

I survived my run and it actually went pretty well… minus the snow and soaking wet feet by the end.

I went on the trail at Sand Run Metro Park in Akron. It was plowed pretty well but the snow was still deep enough to make it feel like running on sand. Deep enough to make me want to die, basically. šŸ™‚

I decided to go off the path and run on the road and my pace decreased significantly- over a minute/mile. Unfortunately, I had to cross this bridge thing that’s covered in water when the water is high and my shoes got drenched! Imagine having your feet soaked in freezing cold water when you’re still 1.5 miles from being done. Not exactly pleasant, right! But, I toughed it out and ran the rest of the way (really, what other choice did I have?)

I told myself I had to just suck it up and run through because if it’s pouring rain on race day and my feet are soaked, I’m not quitting! Do you think that’s a normal conversation to have with yourself? šŸ˜‰

I finished in 1:04:59. Not exactly where I wanted to be, but I finished strong and ran the first 2.5 miles in the snow (and the last with water-logged shoes!)

Image

After my freezing cold run I came home and showered and made an egg & cheese bagel for lunch.

Let me teach you a valuable lesson: eggs cooked in butter > eggs cooked in cooking spray. I know, that’s weird for me to say, but trust me.

A little dab of butter won’t kill you, but it will make you happy šŸ™‚

Image

I had 3 clementines too but they somehow escaped the photograph. After lunch I managed to fall asleep on the couch for ~2 hours, even though I slept for almost 12 hours last night. Lazy bum.

At least I made a delicious dinner: breaded & baked chicken fingers, mashed potatoes, and a veggie mix. Traditional (and somewhat childish?) but tasty & comforting.

Image

Sorry for this awful picture. I need to work on my nighttime photography setup. And my skills.

For the chicken, I just cut three pieces of chicken into strips, dipped them in a mix of one egg and a little water, and then in Italian breadcrumbs. Bake at 400* for 30 minutes, while the mashed potatoes & vegetables cook, and dinner is ready.

Then you need to serve these with a huge pile of BBQ sauce, obviously šŸ™‚

Well, it’s a rocking Saturday night over here. We had some fro-yo:

Image

Cake batter, cookies n cream, chocolate and vanilla, topped with captain crunch, m&m’s, sunflower seeds, peanut butter sauce, hot fudge, and butterfingers. Andy called me a child when I was making this absurd concoction hahaha. How rude! šŸ™‚

Now we’re watching the Ohio State game (Go Bucks!) and I’m going to bed soon. My nap must have worn me out.

Oh, what an exciting life I lead šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

