Easy Baked Pasta

Hi friend, hope you’ve had a great Tuesday ā¤

I spent the day in class & working, then searching for honeymoon locations. So exciting! Any tips or suggestions on good places to go? šŸ™‚

I made a really great dinner tonight, an easy baked pasta dish

First, I made my own sauce out of a few simple ingredients

Image I’ve found that making my own sauce is 1. easy 2. cheap and 3. tastes really great- I like it better than any jarred brand.

For Easy Baked Pasta:

I simply combined:

  • 2 cans of tomato sauce
  • 1 small can of tomato paste
  • 2 tomato paste cans of water, added after the paste
  • 1T sugar
  • 1/2 t minced garlic
  • 1/4 t salt & pepper
  • 1/4 t crushed red pepper
  • 1 t dried parsley
  • 1/2 t dried oregano

Combine all ingredients in a large, deep pan or pot. Allow to simmer for 25-30 minutes while water boils & pasta cooks.Preheat oven to 350*

Cook pasta of your choice according to package directions (I used 1/2 pound of whole wheat rotini). Drain pasta and mix in half a small container of cottage cheese (could also use ricotta but we prefer cottage; can add more or less depending on preference). Add in the desired amount of sauce. I used about 7 small ladle-fulls, probably 3 cups. The recipe makes a bunch so you will have extra sauce!

Mix everything to combine and pour in a greased baking dish. Top with cheese and bake for 15-20 minutes at 350* Imageuntil everything is bubbly and golden.

Ā 

Serve with extra sauce on top and a little crushed red pepper for some kick šŸ™‚

The great thing about this is, well, everything. šŸ˜‰ Even though you’re making homemade sauce, the entire process takes under an hour. It can be made gluten-free, you can add meat, keep it meatless, make it vegan, add veggies- you name it, you can do it. I love baked pasta because it’s so flexible yet easy, delicious, and comforting. And, with the homemade sauce and whole wheat pasta, it’s good for you.

Image

You can also serve this with a nice side salad or another veggie of choice, unless of course you ate a giant, serving-bowl-sized salad for lunch like me! It looks radioactive in this picture, thanks to my stellar photo shop skills while trying to be artsy, but I assure you it wasn’t. It was enormous though so I think I got my 5 servings for the day. I need to put something next to this bowl for scale so you can see how big it is šŸ™‚Ā 

Image

I am ashamed to say I don’t think my run is happening tonight. I waited too long and now I’m completely exhausted! I’ll probably tack on a mile or two tomorrow to make up for it.

Does anyone else struggle with this: waiting until nighttime to exercise then being too tired to get your workout in? Any tips (other than going earlier/not being so darn lazy?!)

Have a great night everyone šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

