Giant Cheeseburgers and A New Start

My coworkers were making fun of me yesterday for writing a “healthy living” blog when all I’ve been posting lately is basically lackluster junk food. At first I was kind of in denial, then I realized it was definitely true.

Then, I went for a run today. And I crashed. Hard. The culprit? Nutrition. Wanna know what I ate today? 7 Oreos, a bag of chips, a peanut butter & jelly sandwich, a bowl of cereal, and a giant cheeseburger and fries. I had two diet sodas. I felt like garbage all day. And I had absolutely NO energy for my run.

Image

 

I’ve talked about this so much on the blog before, but I really think good nutrition is the key to how we feel, how we act, how we look, and how much energy we have. It’s not about weight. It’s about fueling our bodies properly for the demands we put on ourselves.

Lately it seems I’ve forgotten this. I have the dangerous mindset that “I’m training for a marathon, I can eat as much junk as I want.” Not only is this false, it’s also just plain stupid. If I’m going to be training for months to prepare my body for this crazy endurance event, I should be giving it good fuel to keep going, not asking it to run for miles on sugar. Duh! (P.S. I did run 4 miles today- at least I’ve still be running! haha) Image

So, what’s the point of my tirade? You’ll see tomorrow. Muahahah. Tomorrow I’ll be rolling out a new challenge and I hope you’ll join in. It’s not for weight loss- it’s for health and energy to get us through the rest of the dark, cold winter. I’m super excited about it and hope you will be, too!

Sweet dreams of tubs of broccoli 😉

 

Leave a Reply

