Yellow Rice and Day Two

Day Two of Five-A-Day February and I’ve met my goals! Are you joining in? 🙂

I had 3 classes today (Thursdays are my worst days) but I did manage to squeeze in a 3 mile run.

I made really delicious yellow rice for dinner. When I was a junior in high school my family had two exchange students from Spain for the summer. We had such an amazing time with them and they introduced us to some really great Spanish foods. I remember eating yellow rice and loving it. While I was at the grocery the other day I decided to pick some up.

I got Goya Yellow Rice and prepared it according to package directions. I was a little disconcerted to read the lengthy and weird ingredient list. I’m not sure that I’ll be buying this again, I may try to make my own sometime, but it was really good for a quick weeknight meal.Image I aImage

Once the rice was done I added a can of rinsed and drained kidney beans. The kidney beans were a last minute decision over my usual black beans and I loved them in this dish!

I served my rice and beans with a heaping pile of green beans sauteed in a little cooking spray & some minced garlic.

A great, meatless meal that was ready in under 30 minutes. Perfect.

Image

 

Well my computer is being really annoying soooo I’m going to bed before I throw it across theroom. I am SO glad tomorrow is Friday. Goodnight!

 

 

Leave a Reply

