Quick Rise Pizza Dough

Happy Friday! Hope everyone is having a great night 🙂

I had a very interesting day at work today. I go to the jail every Friday to meet with inmates and some days are extremely draining. Today was one of those days. Then, I went to an important meeting at the Federal Public Defender’s Office.

All this legal stuff, it’s like I’m becoming a lawyer or something. Weird. Haha.

Andy and I went on a little date to Cleveland after work to go to a cool fish store, Something Fishy. We got some pretty sweet fish for our second aquarium. I’ll post some pictures tomorrow, everything is looking super cool.

I planned to bake a chicken for a fancy little Friday dinner but we got home too late so I made the next best thing: homemade pizza. Honestly, is there any better way to take out the stress of the week than by kneading dough? I didn’t think so.

I used this recipe, adapted from cooks.com for Quick Rise Pizza Dough

Step 1: In a small bowl, combine:

  • 2/3 cup warm water
  • 1 t sugar
  • 2 packets of quick rise yeast

Let sit for 5 minutes or until very foamy

Step 2: In a larger bowl, combine:

  • 1 t salt
  • 1 T sugar
  • 3 T olive oil
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 3 cups of whole wheat pastry flour

Step 3: Add yeast mixture to flour mixture. Stir with a wooden spoon to combine.

Step 4: Add additional flour until a dough starts to form, then lay the dough on a floured surface and add flour until the dough is no longer sticky.

Step 5: Then, knead the dough until it reaches an elastic-like consistency, between 5-8 minutes.

Step 6: Place the ball of dough in large bowl that has been sprayed with cooking spray. Set the bowl in a warm area and allow dough to rise for at least 30 minutes. Preheat oven to 350*.

Step 7: Once dough is ready, use a rolling pin to roll it out and shape into a circle, on a floured surface. Place on a cookie sheet or pizza stone.

Step 8: Top with desired toppings and bake at 350* for 20-30 minutes or until cheese is bubbly and crust is slightly browned.

I love this dough recipe because it is simple and fast. Plus, it works equally as well with white flour or wheat. I find that whole wheat pastry flour makes a smother dough than regular whole wheat flour, so if you can find it I highly recommend it.

*Note: This makes alot of dough. Definitely enough for two pizzas. I made one huge pizza tonight but it tastes better if you make two thinner.

His & Hers halves:

I like my pizza like I like my friends: saucy 😉 haha

Spinach for me, Pepperoni for Andy, with homemade sauce & mozzarella cheese. Yum.


Time to go watch some tv and go to bed early. I can’t wait to sleep in tomorrow! Then I have big plans of running & hopefully picking out tuxes. Fingers crossed.

Have a great night everyone 🙂

Leave a Reply

