Sunday Cooking

Hi guys! Hope you’ve had a great weekend πŸ™‚

I’m doing laundry & “watching” the Super Bowl. I not-so-secretly despise the Super Bowl so I’m happy to cook dinner and do laundry instead of watching it.

What’s for dinner? A lovely chicken I baked earlier today, made into barbeque chicken sandwiches with a side of garlic rosemary fries. I’ll share the recipes tomorrow, but I’ll at least give you a peak at the chicken tonight πŸ™‚Β 

Easy Baked Chicken

Start with a whole, organic chicken (mine was 3.5 lbs), with gross insides removed and completely dried with paper towels

Place the chicken in a small pan. Coat with salt & pepper (lots!) then pour on olive oil. Be generous with the seasoning & oil! The, rub this all into the chicken. You will get dirty.

At this point, you can add lots of extras: whole cloves of garlic tucked inside the chicken, onions on the bottom of the pan, a sliced lemon inside the chicken, fresh herbs… the list goes on. We like it plain, with lots of salt & pepper.

Bake the chicken at 425* for roughly 70-90 minutes, depending on the size of your bird. I suggest checking the temp with a meat thermometer after an hour to see what things are looking like- poultry should be cooked to 180* for food safety.

*Warning, dead bird photos to follow*

Image

This is the most delicious chicken in the world. Seriously. The skin gets so so crispy and even if you think chicken skin is gross (I do) you won’t be able to stop eating it. I promise.

Give it a try- baking a whole chicken seems scary but it’s really not. And it’s 100x’s better than those grocery store rotisserie chickens. Just remember to sanitize your counter tops when you’re done!

Image

Please forgive my permanently stained pan πŸ˜‰

I made a pretty exceptional breakfast, if I do say so myself. Simple french toast topped with grilled bananas, Greek yogurt, warm maple syrup & blackberries. Plus 3 cups of coffee for energy to force Andy into housework take care of my Sunday chores.

Image

Image

I wish I had time for a breakfast like this every day! Yum.

Time to go change my laundry. Have a great night everyone- and remember to be responsible, it is a school night πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

