Tragedy and Mashed Potatoes

This morning I awoke to a tragedy.

You see, I made this delicious breakfast of oatmeal, yogurt, banana, and peanut butter to take to class. Only, when I woke up I found out that the fridge had been ajar all night and everything in it was most likely bad. Including the $5 container of Chobani Greek yogurt I just bought. Tragedy.

So, I went to class hungry and pouted all morning. Like any mature, almost-twenty-five-year-old would.

I did make a great dinner to make up for the fridge failure though πŸ™‚

White Bean Mashed Potatoes

These mashed potatoes can be served as a side or an entree, due to the protein kick from the white beans. They’re really simple too- just make mashed potatoes as normal and add a can of pureed white beans. Mix and serve. Easy, delicious, and very filling!

For the potatoes: scrub & chop 4-5 large organic white potatoes. I always use organic because I like to keep the skin on. Put chopped potatoes in a large pot, cover with cold water, and cook on medium high heat until potatoes are soft, around 30 minutes.

For the beans: rinse and drain a can of white beans (Great Northern, Cannelini, etc.) . Toss beans into a food processor along with a clove of finely minced garlic, salt, pepper, paprika and a little bit of either milk or vegetable/chicken broth. Blend until mostly smooth.

Once your potatoes are soft, drain the water and add the potatoes to the food processor. Add milk or broth and butter (or vegan butter substitute) just until the mashed potatoes come together. Be careful not to add too much liquid or over-mix. I wasn’t paying attention and blended mine a little too long- they were smoother than I like. However, if you like super smooth mashed potatoes, blend as long as you want!

When you have the mixture to your desired consistency, add it back to your pot and heat through. You’ll want to check the seasonings and add more salt & pepper or butter, as needed.

Serve potatoes alongside any meat dish or make them the entree and serve with a pile of roasted vegetables. This dish is wonderfully versatile πŸ™‚

I roasted broccoli, carrots, and cauliflower at 400* for 15 minutes while everything else was cooking (I put the carrots in for 10 minutes first since they take longer). Even though this meal was basically all vegetables, it was really filling thanks to the white beans.

Sorry for the horrendously blurry photo. I could not get a good one tonight. I’m anxious for evening sunlight to return!

A couple notes with this recipe: if you don’t like garlic, leave it out; if you prefer to peel your potatoes, go for it; if you don’t have a food processor, just use a hand mixer or a little elbow grease to mash the beans before adding them to your potatoes; and, you can make these as chunky or smooth as you want.

Definitely give these potatoes a try- I love them (and Andy eats them too!)

In other news, I managed to get in a 4 mile run on the treadmill this afternoon. My legs are sore from yoga yesterday so it was a little rough but not terrible. I’m already SO tired of the treadmill though- Spring, please hurry!

Time for homework & hopefully an early bedtime. Have a great night πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

