My Fitness Pal

Let’s talk about my favorite app, My Fitness Pal.

What is it, you ask? It’s a program you can join (for free!) to help track things like your calories, exercise, water intake, etc. It helps take some stress out of calorie counting by keeping everything in a handy little spot. Plus, it totally takes the guess work out of weight loss by telling you how many calories you should consume to reach your goal weight within the time frame you choose.

For instance, I currently weigh around 133 pounds. I’d like to get down to around 125 within the next month or so. I put this into My Fitness Pal, along with my typical activity level, and it tells me how many calories I should eat. Right now, I am allowed 1200 calories per day to reach my goal weight within the desired time.

Let’s be honest: I am an eater, as you guys know. I love to eat and I eat a lot throughout the day. 1200 calories is simply not enough for me some days. There’s a solution for that, though. When you exercise, you plug in your activity and the time, and it adds additional calories to you daily “bank” based on the amount your burned. It’s perfect for me!

My activity level has gone way, way down over the past few months. To a point where I hardly recognize myself. I all but stopped running and working out- it was terrible. It’s taking me a while to get my fitness back to a suitable level, and my caloric needs might change once I do, but for now 1200 calories should work well.

Except I go over my limit most days?? Ugh! I am not good at this dieting thing, but I am trying!

If you need a way to help track your calories and exercise, and are maybe even looking to lose a little weight, I definitely suggest giving My Fitness Pal a try. All of my girlfriends are doing it too and it’s great fun to follow each other on this journey!

Follow me @: sveltgail.

Happy calorie counting and I’ll be back tomorrow with a new recipe!

Leave a Reply

