Healthy(ish) Weeknight Enchiladas

It’s really important to me to make dinner every night. Blame my parents- we always at dinner at the table every night while I was growing up. Sometimes, I wonder how they did it. However they managed it, it made an impact on me. Now, I strive to make dinner for my “family” every night (yes, it’s just Andy and I).

Of course sometimes I fail at this and we end up eating pizza or going out to dinner. But, as long as I do a little planning ahead, I find I can actually put a home-cooked meal on the table most nights.

Anyway, long story short, make these enchiladas! They come together in no time and are so comforting after a long day. Bonus is that they are actually pretty healthy. I used 98% lean ground turkey, pinto beans, whole wheat tortillas, and reduced fat cheese. The only questionable ingredient in these is the pre-made enchilada sauce. There are some strange ingredients in that can. But, unless someone magically gives me more hours in a day, I’ll stick with the canned stuff, thankyouverymuch. I’m sure we can all agree!

Healthy(ish) Weeknight Enchiladas

  • 1/2 pound lean ground turkey
  • 1 can rinsed & drained beans (I used pinto, but black or kidney would also be good)
  • 1 can enchilada sauce (medium sized can)
  • 3/4 cup reduced fat shredded cheddar cheese
  • 5 medium whole wheat flour tortillas

First, brown your ground turkey in a pan sprayed with cooking spray. I cooked a whole pound and divided it to make another dish tomorrow. Once turkey is browned, add the rinsed and drained beans. Pour a little bit of the enchilada sauce over the meat and beans- eyeball this, it isn’t an exact thing. Just enough to cover everything. Add a handful or two of the shredded cheese and mix everything.

IMG_2611

Next, add a little sauce to the bottom of a 9 x 12 pan. Then add about 1/4 cup of the meat and bean filling to a tortilla, roll it up, and place it in the pan. Repeat until all the filling is used up. I ended up with 5 tortillas.

IMG_2613

Finally, pour the remainder of the sauce on top of all the enchiladas. Top with the desired amount of cheese. I happen to have a husband who loves cheese, so I was pretty liberal with it. Cover with foil and bake for 20 minutes at 350. Then, remove foil and bake for another 10 minutes, or until cheese is bubbly.

IMG_2615

This is such a fast, easy meal. Add a side salad and you’re good to go.

IMG_2621

Or, just devour two enchiladas while they’re still so hot you burn your mouth because you are absolutely starving after the gym. Whatever you prefer.

Let me know if you give it a try!

Leave a Reply

