Sunday Prep

I can’t believe the weekend is almost over. Ugh. Where did the time go?

I have a really busy week coming up, filled with appointments, meetings, a deadline at work and the usual school stuff. I spent some time this evening getting things ready so we can eat healthy meals all week despite rushing around.

I went grocery shopping then prepped everything as soon as I got home. I chopped veggies to have ready for salads and snacks, made a big bowl of my new favorite salad, and a big batch of guacamole to snack on all week. I’m also planning to make a big batch of Crock Pot Oatmeal tonight so I have breakfast ready for the week.

IMG_2967I chopped two peppers and a large cucumber. I’m already looking forward to having cucumber and carrot sticks with guac for my afternoon snack tomorrow 🙂

The salad I made it actually a variation of a recipe I saw on Trisha Yearwood’s cooking show. Her version is called Ty’s Thai Salad and while it looks great, it takes quite a bit of prep work. I’ve been making my own version using bagged coleslaw mix and halving her dressing recipe. The dressing is wonderful and the salad is really crisp and fresh. The best thing about it though is that it keeps for a few days in the fridge without getting soggy, so it’s perfect to make ahead for the week.

IMG_2970

We ate pizza and wings for lunch today, then I had an ice cream sundae and macaroni and cheese for dinner. How’s that for a confession? Haha. Needless to say, I pretty much feel like garbage. I ran 6 miles yesterday but I think I more than made up for that with my food consumption. I’m excited to start fresh in the morning with a week of clean eating and exercise!

I also thought I’d start posting my weekly meal plan and workouts for the week on Sundays. Maybe it will help give you guys dinner ideas 🙂

Workouts

  • Sunday- Off
  • Monday- yoga
  • Tuesday- run 4 miles
  • Wednesday- yoga and/or cycling
  • Thursday- run 4 miles
  • Friday- off
  • Saturday- run 7 miles

Dinner Plan (recipes coming this week)

  • Monday- pork chops and brown rice with apricot sauce
  • Tuesday- crock pot taco chicken
  • Wednesday- dinner at a meeting
  • Thursday- baked whole wheat pasta
  • Friday- out to dinner

Have a great night, friends 🙂

Do you meal plan for the week or just figure it out as you go?

What are your workouts for the week?

Any good dinner ideas?

 

4 thoughts on “Sunday Prep

  1. I made this “30-minute meal” from the Real Simple magazine….here is the online link. Instead of polenta I used instant grits with cheddar cheese and apple cider vinegar instead of white wine per the print recipe. So…next time you do pork chops:) http://www.realsimple.com/food-recipes/browse-all-recipes/roasted-pork-chops-polenta-00000000041509/index.html. I am trying to cook more and more at home for Jon and I so keep the ideas flowing. Also……I really need assistance in the smoothie department. Looks easy but I am struggling with consistency. Are you doing the half? I decided on the quarter in May.

  2. Pingback: Oops | Legal Eats

  3. Pingback: Chicken Burritos and A Hank Tale | Legal Eats

Leave a Reply

