A Fast & Effective Workout (for those days you just don’t want to run)

Yesterday I did the dangerous put-off-my-run-until-the-last-minute thing. I ran errands, I took Hank to the park, and then I found myself with an hour left before I had to be ready for a bachelorette party. I absolutely did not feel like going for a run, even though it was my running day. Instead, I did this workout I developed awhile back. It’s intense and fairly difficult, combining strength training with super-effective intervals, but it’s a total body workout you can do in 30 minutes.

And the best part? I am so, so sore today! I can hardly even lift my arms, no joke.

Give it a try if you’re in the market for a total body workout (and who isn’t?)

Quick & Sweaty 30 Minute Workout*

(You’ll need a stopwatch or some way to keep time for your intervals)

3 minutes warmup

3 rounds (as fast as possible, 30 seconds on; 30 seconds off):

  • Jumping jacks
  • Jump squats
  • High knees
  • Burpees
  • Butt kicks

Rest 1 minute between each round

4 minutes Tabata Intervals (20 seconds on-as fast as possible; 10 seconds off)

  • Jump rope

Rest 2 minutes after Tabata Intervals

Arm burner, 3 rounds; 12 reps each

Cool down & stretch

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

Like I said, this should take roughly 30 minutes, depending on how long you rest in between weight sets.

I hope you enjoy- let me know what you think!

 

*Disclaimer: I am not a licensed trainer, this workout is just something that works for me. You should always check with a Dr. before making any fitness changes or decisions!

Leave a Reply

