Orange Marmalade Pork Chops & Flourless Cookies

One of my favorite ways to dress up average dishes is by adding a quick, flavorful sauce. I’ve found that orange marmalade is an excellent addition to pork chops and chicken. I simply add a tablespoon or two on top of each cut of meat, add a little water to the pan, and let everything simmer until it’s done. It creates a great sauce while also keeping everything moist (Ugh. I hate the word moist. Apologies for using it).

I really like the Smucker’s Simply Fruit preserves, as they don’t contain any high fructose corn syrup or other strange ingredients. Bonus points for Smucker’s being an Ohio company. As I said, orange marmalade works really well and it’s what I used tonight. You can also use apricot preserves for a slightly sweet and sour flavor.

I served our pork chops with brown rice and asparagus, which I also coated in some preserves.

IMG_3086

IMG_3087

After dinner I baked some cookies to take to one of my classes tomorrow. I have a presentation and I decided that instead of making a boring power point, my time would be better spent making a batch of delicious peanut butter chocolate chip cookies. Hopefully my class, and my professor, agree.

I followed this recipe for Peanut Butter Oatmeal Chocolate Chip cookies and they came out as amazing as they look. I was a little wary of the lack of flour, but I promise you won’t miss it. The cookies are so chewy and have a great peanut butter flavor. Definitely give them a try, I know they are a new favorite of mine. Note: I sprinkled a little sea salt on top of each one before baking, and I definitely suggest doing that.

IMG_3088

I took this picture on the floor because the sun was setting and that’s where the best light was. I promise no cookies came close to touching the carpet! Haha. But let’s be honest, even if they did, I would still eat them. Not much comes between me and chocolate chip cookies.

Now I should probably go work on my actual presentation, rather than just the dessert I’m serving along with it.

Have a great night!

Leave a Reply

